ACT Junior Chess League
Promoting Junior Chess in the Capital
Calendar and Results

ACTJCL Calendar of Events 2024
Version of 21 January 2024

[Some non-ACTJCL events included in italics for information]

Venue for ACTJCL tournaments/events is the School Hall, Campbell High School, except where a different venue is indicated (in bold type).



Term 1
Date Event Flyer/Results
Tuesday 9th to Friday 12th January 2023 Summer Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Rapidplay
- Long time control
Sunday 25th February Lightning Championship
Entry and Info
Sunday 17th March Autumn Allegro
Results
Thursday 28th March to Monday 1st April 2024 Doeberl Cup
Canberra Southern Cross Club Woden, 92-96 Corinna Street Woden
Yes
Tuesday 2nd April 2024 Girls Secondary
Merici College, Braddon
Final results
Thursday 4th April 2024 Girls Primary Teams Championship
Gold Creek Primary, Kellaway Ave, Nicholls
Results
Monday 15th to Thursday 18th April
(First Week of Holidays)
Autumn Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament
Trybooking Link
Coaching and Lightning
Allegro
Long Time Tournament



Term 2

Date Event Flyer/Results
TBA North Canberra/Gungahlin Zone Open Primary
TBA
Results
Sunday 3rd March ACT Teams Championship Campbell High School
Entry and Info
Sunday 12th May ACT Junior Chess Rapid Championship
Results
Tuesday 14th May 2024 Belconnen Zone Open Primary
MacGregor Primary School, MacGregor
Results
Friday 24th to Monday 27th May ACT Championships
Yes
TBA South Canberra Secondary
TBA.
Results
TBA Woden/Weston/Central Zone Open Primary
TBA
Results
Wednesday 3rd July 2024 Tuggeranong Zone Open Primary
Trinity Christian School, Waniassa
Results
Monday 8th to Thursday 11th July
(First Week of Holidays)
Winter Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Long Time Control Tournament

Coaching and Lightning
Allegro
Long Time Tournament
Friday 26th to Sunday 28th July ANU Open
Room 2.02 Marie Reay Teaching Centre, University Ave, ANU
Registration Link


Term 3
Date Event Flyer/Results
TBA North Canberra Secondary
TBA.
Yes
TBA Open Primary School Championships Final
Trinity Christian School, Waniassa
No
TBA Open Secondary School Championships Final
Canberra Grammar School
Yes
Sunday 25th August Winter Rapid
Yes
Sunday 8th September ACT Women's and Girls Championship
Results
Sunday 22nd September ACT Under 10 and Under 8 Championship
Results
Monday 30th September to Friday 4th September
(First week of school holidays)
ACT Junior Championships
(FIDE and ACF Rated Long Time Tournament)
Junior Championship
Under 14 Championship
Tuesday 8th to Friday 11th October
(Second week of school holidays)
Spring Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Long Time Tournament


Term 4
Date Event Flyer/Results
TBA ASTC Playoff Weekend
No
Sunday 27th October ACT Spring Junior Allegro
Yes
TBA Vikings Weekender
Lanyon Club, Heidelberg St, Condor
No
Sunday 8th December Transfer Chess Tournament and Presentation Day
No
Saturday 21st December ACT Chess Association Rapid
No